Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Book Summary

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is a contemporary fantasy debut novel by American author Ransom Riggs. The story tells through a combination of narrative and a mix of vernacular and found photography from the personal archives of collectors listed by the author.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Book Summary Beginning

This is a story about Jacob, who lives in Florida with his mother, father, and grandfather. Jacob’s grandfather tells Jacob stories about growing up at a peculiar orphanage with usual children who had special abilities on Cairn Holm’s island in Britain. As Jacob gets older, he grows out of believing the stories, and Jacob’s grandfather becomes more and more paranoid of danger.

One day, Jacob checks up on his grandfather at his home and finds him lying in the grass and covered in his blood from an attack by a monster. Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children monster. His grandfather warns him that he isn’t safe and tells him to go to Cairn Holm island for more answers. Read the Full Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Book Summary. I assure you that you will enjoy our best hard work.

Grandfather’s Gift for Jacob

Jacob’s grandfather dies, and Jacob is forced to see a therapist, Dr. Golan, to discuss his issues. Jacob receives a book that his grandfather left him containing a letter from a Miss Peregrine on his birthday. (miss peregrine 2) Under the encouragement of Dr. Golan, Jacob and his father travel to Cairn Holm island. Jacob and his father arrive on Cairn Holm Island, which a few locals populate. Jacob visits the orphanage but sees that it’s been abandoned, and the building is in ruins from a German bomber during World War II.

Then, Jacob returns to the orphanage the next day and explores the rooms more carefully. He finds a trunk full of photographs but is suddenly visited by a group of children led by Emma, who can create fire with her hands. Jacob chases Emma to a cairn or tomb. And when we emerge, he realizes that he has time-traveled back to September 3rd, 1940, the date the orphanage was bombed.

Emma takes Jacob to Miss Peregrine, the orphanage’s headmistress, a powerful peculiar with the ability to change into a falcon and create time loops. She explains that she made a time loop that replays September 3rd, 1940, again and again, and that none of them has aged a single day. Jacob travels back and forth between his own time and the past through the time loop, yet no one can tell him anything when he begins asking more questions. Jacob meets Enoch, who can transfer life from one thing to another, Bronwyn, a girl with tremendous strength, and Millard, an invisible boy. (miss peregrine chapter 7 summary)

ISBN:  978-1-59474-476-1
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Book Summary

Jacob stumbles across a box of letters from his grandfather to Emma and learns that his grandfather stopped writing to her when he became a father. Emma kisses Jacob and tells him that he is peculiar too and that his grandfather had a rare ability to see hollow Gast. These monsters are invisible and like to eat peculiars. The orphanage is visited by Miss Avocet, Miss Peregrine’s old teacher. And she’s distraught because a hollow Gast attacked her home of peculiar wards.

There, Jacob learns that hollow Gast formed when a group of peculiars tried to become immortal. And they have the help of weights, evolved hollow Gast’s who can blend in with the general population. When Jacob returns to his time, he suspects that a hollow Gast and Wight are in town. For fear of an attack on the orphanage, Miss Peregrine tells all the children that they can’t leave the house, including Jacob. (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children 2)

Instead, Jacob, Emma, Bronwyn, and Enoch disobey and travel through the time loop to search for answers. The hollow Gast and wight appear, and Jacob realizes that the wight assumed the identity of many people he knew, including Dr. Golan. Jacob kills the hollow Gast, but by the time he returns through the time loop. Dr. Golan has kidnapped Miss Peregrine and Miss Avacetin, a birdcage. Jacob, Emma, Bronwyn, and Millard pursue Dr. Golan to a nearby lighthouse.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Ending

As they try to swim to the lighthouse, Millard gets shot. Bronwyn uses a metal door from a sunken ship as a shield as they swim and make it to the lighthouse. Emma and Jacob chase Dr. Golan up the lighthouse, where he reveals that they’ve been kidnapping. All of the most potent peculiars try to unlock the secret of immortality. Jacob shoots Dr. Golan, and as he dies, the birdcage falls into the ocean.

Emma and Jacob rescue Miss Peregrine, but U-boat appears, and Miss Avocet is taken. In the end, the time loop is broken, and Jacob and the other children leave the island to continue fighting against the hollow Gast. We will upload the following book summary on Miss Peregrine Book 2 Summary. Keep in touch and must-read that.

Thanks for reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Book Summary. Please give you feedback to improve our Book Summaries.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.